The Stereoscopic Eye

Inessential views of art and photography.

About regrets and guilty pleasures. 11 daring questions.

Something about Patri

About a month ago, I took a blog challenge, which has in fact been very challenging at times, but also rewarding. Through it I have connected with other bloggers and shared advice, worries and inspiration. One of the people undertaking the challenge was . She invited a few of us to answer a set of eleven questions about ourselves. And I gave a go because as much as it was a writing exercise, it was also a personal challenge as I am reluctant to talk about myself. So, yes, this post doesn’t have a direct connection with photography or art, but as you keep reading, you will see how links start to emerge. After all we write about our passions and interests.

1. If you could go back in time and change one decision you’ve made, what would it be?

Ok, granted. This has nothing to do with photography. I’d would have stopped smoking earlier. That being said, I do not regret having smoked for a while as the cigarettes provided me at times with perfect excuses for socializing. When I moved to Germany eleven years ago, the only sentence I could say was: “Entschuldigung, hast du Feuer?”, which means as much as asking for a lighter. Yes, smoking is a bad vice, but it connects people.

2. What do you wish you had more time for?

Photography. Taking photos. Editing photos. Working on photo series.

3. What is your guilty pleasure?

Here we go again … a green smoke every now and then!

4. What is your favorite smell?

Cinnamon. Cinnamon. Cinnamon. And maybe patchouli. And the green stuff.

5. Where do you want to be five years from now?

Working on something I am passionate about, ideally a job that combines photography with people and academic research. Do you have any ideas? Please, share them!

6. If they would make a movie of your life, who would have to play you?

Well, people say I look like Helena Bonham Carter, but I’d love Maisie Williams to play me. But really, any woman who is not afraid to speak up and stand for herself would do a good job.

7. What would be your ultimate job?

See number 5 and add a location: Spain or Portugal.

8. Which goal should definitively be on your bucket list?

Work on my website. Soon.

9. What do you want to do for a long time, but you keep procastinating?

My PhD!? I believe that behind every PhD there is a story of procastination. Productive procastination at times, but procastination nevertheless.

10. Which achievement are you proud of most?

Having made it on my own abroad. Twice. Oh yeah!

11. What would you name the autobiography of your life?

Foxey Lady?

Now, it is the turn to pass the ball. Five talented bloggers will be answering the next set of 11 questions. Keep an eye on their blogs!

Join Jonelle's unapologetic Journey!

Jonelle embodies much of what I admire and profoundly respect of everyday feminism. I love her straight-forward and still very caring style!

Sheena's motto!

We have Sheena, who writes about her nomadic life as a Swazi in Europe.

Ariel's logo!

Ariel is a talented designer and passionate cook, who shares her interests in a beautifully crafted blog. If you like the kitchen, you will love Ariel’s blog.

Screenshot003

Nicole is a relationships counselor and a quote lover. Her blog is full of advice and it made me go back to reading “Emotional Intelligence”.

Rosie's blog title

And last but not least, Rosie, who is an avid reader and explorer of stories!

7 comments on “About regrets and guilty pleasures. 11 daring questions.

  1. Jonelle
    July 28, 2015

    Patri, thanks for tagging me in the challenge and for the absolutely lovely comment about my blog! I’ve also been procrastinating on my PhD, every time I come up with the PERFECT topic I get sidetracked until I find the next perfect thing… eventually we will get there!

    Interesting, your ideas for your future are so similar to mine. Except that I somehow need to combine social media, social development and a love of research!

    I am super interested to see the outcome of your website project. Would love to know more about the background behind the idea!

    x

    • northnomads
      July 28, 2015

      Jonelle, no idea that you want to start a PhD! Have a look at this site and consider joining the mailing list. They always circulate interesting topics, right down your alley! http://www.media-anthropology.net/

      The website will have to wait until I finish the PhD. It is my priority right now (says the one working on the blog instead of on the analysis chapter!). The background for the chicken story involves two projects. I did a little making of video about the first diptych for a friend who was teaching a module on narrative research. You can watch it here http://osdiasda.deviantart.com/art/Consum-ca-ptive-and-ConsumMATE-Making-of-335813591?q=gallery%3Aosdiasda%2F2267889&qo=2. As for the following shots, I became involved in another project (http://globalmissionofart.com/index.php?/projects/4-reversality/), which inspired the second one. The last three are the result of my on-going reflection about being feminine, coming to terms with your body and about the cages we live in (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13214.I_Know_Why_the_Caged_Bird_Sings).

      Really looking forward to reading your answers 🙂

      • Jonelle
        July 28, 2015

        Thanks for the link (I will definitely have a look).. I planned on starting but then my Masters took ages and I had an AWFUL supervisor and it put me off starting immediately. Now I keep trying to find the middle ground between what I studied and what I do now (which I love so much). Anyway that won’t be for a while now that I’m having a baby! One step at a time.

        I just watched your video – very interesting! That would make an incredible photographic exhibition – I imagine the life sized images would definitely create shock and send the message home! I actually think that using chickens works well because of “chicken skin” and the idea of the goosebumps it labels! Well, after your PhD is finally finished (get off the blog) you really should pursue this concept! Will post a response to the questions early next week!

  2. amandasettle
    August 19, 2015

    Love the photography on here and the stories around it, I hope you don’t mind I’ve nominated you for a Liebster award you can read all about it here http://www.amandasettle.com/nominated-for-a-liebster-award/

    • northnomads
      August 19, 2015

      Thanks for the comment a
      nd for the nomination Amanda! Great news 🙂 I’ll go and read about it now!!!

  3. My Desert Love
    September 26, 2015

    Reblogged this on My Difference and commented:
    Need to visit these blogs!

  4. Pingback: Sometimes the questions are complicated... - Tyranny of Pink

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 28, 2015 by in Art Photography and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow The Stereoscopic Eye and receive notifications of new posts by email.

